Sunday 8th August 2021

Sunday 8th August 2021

Monday, 9 August 2021


Results: Bank Holiday Monday August 2: Open Singles Stableford: 1st Patrick Lynch (5) 42 pts; 2nd Kieran Burke (17) 41 pts; 3rd Michael John Cleary (10) 40 pts (back 9); gross: Jake McMahon 35 pts; senior: Micheal Tierney (7) 40 pts.

Results: Tuesday and Wednesday August 3 and 4, Open Singles Stableford: 1st Ger Crotty (19) 44 pts (back 9); 2nd Richard O'Sullivan (19) 44 pts; 3rd Michael John Cleary (10) 42 pts; gross David Reddan Jnr 40 pts; Senior: Guy Atkinson (22) 41 pts; senior plus: Martin Collins (17) 40 pts.

Saturday and Sunday August 7 and 8 Open Singles Stableford.: 1st Robert Ryan (22) 48 pts; 2nd Mark Gleeson (14) 42 pts; 3rd Conor Dore (10) 41 pts (back 6); gross Tony Scroope 35 pts; senior: Gerard O'Rourke (13) 41 pts.

Fixtures: Tuesday and Wednesday August 10 and 11: Open Singles Stableford.

Saturday, Sunday and Monday August 14, 15 and 16: Captain's Prize (Sean McLoughlin) Qualifier

Tuesday and Wednesday August 17 and 18: Open Singles Stableford.

Saturday August 21: Captain's Prize Playoff.

Captain's Prize: Sean McLoughlin's Captain's Prize qualifier is on this Saturday, Sunday and Monday 14, 15 and 16 August. The play off will take place on Saturday August 21. The top 70 plus ties will qualify for the playoff. The timesheet opened on Monday last. The order of prizes will be: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, gross, 4th, 5th, 6th, senior, student, 1st 18, 2nd 18 (1, 2, 3), past captain, Denis O'Sullivan prize will be presented to the best senior who doesnt receive another prize. Sean joined the club in 2003 and has served on committee for a number of years. He had regularly made his professional expertise available in the day-to-day running of the club, be it assisting with breakdown and other emergencies. As captain he has led the club through a very difficult Covid 19 era and is the driving force, with his committee, behind ongoing development at the club for the betterment of all members. He has particpated in, and supported, inter-club golf over many years. All the members wish Sean and his family well over the next two weekends and hope we get good weather and great golf.

Senior plus in Captain's prize: Members who are senior plus (70 and over) may play off the green markers in the Captain's Prize but must indicate their intention to do so before start of the competition.

Pierce Purcell Shield: The Pierce Purcell team won their Munster West quarter-final match against Charleville on Saturday by 4-1. Playing in Nenagh were Padraig Hackett & Dave McGrath and Paul Moloney & David Hickey. In action in Charleville were: Richard Moloney & Eamon O'Brien, Brendan O'Donoghue & Matthew O'Gara and Bernard Hackett & PJ Hogan. Their opponents in the Munster semi-final will be Spanish Point. Selectors are PJ Shanahan and Bernard Delahunty.

Fred Perry Trophy: The Fred Perry team had a match against Killarney last Monday. The result will be published next week.

Junior Cup: The Junior Cup team lost their match against Limerick on Wednesday evening last. The match very extremely tight with the outcome decided on the 19th green in Nenagh. Playing in Nenagh were Jake Adler, Brian Freeman and Michael Corrigan. In action in Limerick were Conor O'Dwyer and Cian Heffernan. Thanks to the team and selectors Hugh Maher and Cronan Casey.

50/50 Members' Draw: The fortnightly 50/50 Members' Draw in aid of the club development fund is ongoing. In the last draw held on Friday July 30 Sean Flynn won €150 with the total pot at €300.To enter simply put €5 in the envelope supplied and place it in draw box outside the pro shop. The winner will receive 50% of the pot. The draw will take place every second Friday. The prize grows with every ticket sold. Please support. The next draw will take place on this Friday August 13. Thanks to everybody who supported this club fundraiser.

Club Fourball: Second round matches should have been completed, Play off blue tee markers. Top pairing to arrange match. Enter result on drawsheet. All queries to organisers Niall Murphy and Tony Slattery.

Club Singles: The club singles is down to the last eight: Paul Cullen v Declan Lynch; Tom Coffey v Billy Morgan; Sean Bane v Conor O'Dwyer; Sean Minogue v Sean Kelly.