Sunday 15th January 2023

Sunday 15th January 2023

Sunday, 15 January 2023



Monday 9th January to Sunday 15th January: 14 Holes Open Singles: Cat. 1: Collwyn Martin (0) 31 pts; Cat. 2: 1st Niall O'Meara (9) 34 pts; 2nd Conor O'Donovan (12) 33 pts; Cat. 3: 1st Joe Banaghan (19) 35 pts; 2nd David McGrath (16) 33 pts; Cat. 4: 1st Eamon Byrne (23) 33 pts; 2nd Derry O'Neill (21) Shannon 32 pts.


Wednesday 18th January: Corky's Golfballs.

Friday 20th January: Senior Retired.

Monday 16th January to Sunday 22nd January: 14 Holes Open Singles incorporating the Winter League. Members €5, visitors €20.

Winter League: The winter league has resumed and the dates are: Monday 16th to Sunday 22nd January; Monday 23rd to Sunday 29th January. First card to count for winter league. No limit to number of cards for weekly competitions. If the course is closed due to weather conditions on Saturday or Sunday or any part of Saturday/Sunday the whole week is cancelled. Following last week's event the league table is: Paul Moloney 368 pts, Gerry O'Rourke 342, Michael Corrigan 331, Michael Hegarty 331, Mel Gleeson 330, Ger Ryan 328, Andy Warren 321, Robbie Foley 312, Kieran Ryan 304, Jim Flynn 303.

50/50 Draw: The last 50/50 draw was held on Saturday 7th January in which Paddy Heffernan won €60 from a total pot of €120. The next draw will take place on this Saturday 21st January 2023.

Poker Classic: A poker classic will take place in the clubhouse at Nenagh Golf Club on Sunday 22nd January starting at 6pm. Please support. The proceeds will be in aid of junior golf at the club.

Management AGM : The postponed management annual general meeting took place last Tuesday January 10th in the Abbey Court Hotel, Nenagh at 8pm. There was a large attendance of 93 members. The meeting was chaired by the 2022 president Michael Manning. The incoming captain Martin Slattery addressed the meeting. He urged members to accept the motion seeking an increase in the subscription. The financial statements for 2022 showed the club with a deficit. The acccounts were formally adopted. The election of officers were: Presidents Jim O'Sullivan and Alice Varley; captains Martin Slattery and Catherine Bird; vice-captains Philip Quinlan and Anna O'Brien; ex-officio Liam Hogan and Julie Barkman; hon secretary Paul Ferris; hon treasurer Cian Heffernan; auditors O'Donnell Keane and Co; committee: Sean Minogue, Kieran Burke, Brian Duggan, Toni Brophy and Siobhan Tynan. Two new trustees were elected namely Hugh Maher and Breda Fitzgibbon. There was a lively discussion on the motion. The motion before the meeting seeking an increase of €50 to be applied to all members wasn't voted on. An amendment seeking an increase of €50 from ordinary members; €100 from family members; €50 from all other categories excluding members covered by 15.1 and 15.2 of the club constitution. These members will pay a pro rata increase. This increase in annual subscription will be for the year 2023 only. This amendment was voted on and carried.