Club Notes 18th August 2019.

Club Notes 18th August 2019.

All the latest Fixtures, Notices and Results for the Week

Sunday, 18 August 2019


Wednesday 14th August Open Singles (Mens )
1st: Seams Hennessy (9) 43pts. 2nd: Evan Coleman (27) 40 pts. 3rd: Tony Scroope (3) 39 pts. Gross: David Hunt 36 pts. Seniors: Tom Darcy (9) 38 pts. Senior Plus: EamonByrne (18) 37 pts

CSS : 37 pts

Thursday 15th GOY 6 Men’s Captains Prize to the Ladies. (Ladies )
1st: Nora O’Flynn (34) 68. 2nd: Liz McKeever (13) 73. Gross: Deirdre Cahalan (11) 85. 3rd: Anne Atkinson (21) 74( B9). 4th: Teresa Connolly(25) 74 B9 (25) 74( B9). 5th: Betty Hynes (29) 74. 6th: Marie Corrigan (21) 75. Seniors: Agnes Collins (28) 75. : 9 Hole S/F . 1st: Niamh Leenane (27) 16 pts. 2nd: Marie Finnan (31) 15 pts.
Saturday 17th August Captains Prize Playoff ( Hugh Maher). (Mens )
1st: Frank Flannery (10) 135. 2nd: Michael A Tierney (17) 137 Last 18. 3rd: Eugene Fitzpatrick (17) 137. Gross: Tony Scroope 147. Captains Prize to Ladies: Nora Flynn (34) 68. 4th: Pat Foley (14) 139. 5th: Peter Baker (9) 140. 6th: Seamus Hennessy (9) 141 (Back 9). Seniors: Paul Moloney (10) 141. Student: Dominic O'Brien (19) 147. 1st 18 Holes: Tony McCann (12) 68. Past Captain: Jim O'Sullivan (17) 143. : 2nd 18 Holes . 1st: Garry Prout (17) 70. 2nd: Michael Fitzgibbon (9) 71. 3rd: Liam Hogan (15) 72 (Back 9). Denis O'Sullivan Cup: Jim Flynn (12) 143. : Junior . 1st: Cathal Blake . 2nd: Luke Purcell . 3rd: Dylan Adler

CSS: 72


Frank Flannery Is the 2019 captain's prize winner

Hugh Maher's Captain's Prize: Frank Flannery won Hugh Maher's Captain's Prize at a windy Nenagh golf course on Saturday with a score of 68 to follow his 67 in the qualifier last weekend for a total of 135. Michael J. Tierney was out early in the morning and his 64 set the target for the rest of the field. Eugene Fitzpatrick was in one the last few groups and his 69 put him in second place in the clubhouse. Frank Flannery was going very steady for his round and coming to the 18th he knew a six would secure the title. He took five at the hole to win Hugh's prize in very difficult playing conditions. He is a popular and worthy winner. At the presentation of prize in the clubhouse on Saturday night Hugh thanked everyone who help him during the year and specially over the last two weekends. He made a special presentation to Tom Doheny for his outstanding service over many year to the club and he referred to Tom as the friendly face of Nenagh

Fixtures: Wednesday August 21: Open Singles sponsored by A Sportman's Dream, Nenagh.

Saturday August 24 and Sunday August 25: 2 Person Scramble.

Tuesday August 27: Tuesday Mixed.
Tuesday Mixed: Two More Tuesdays left in this year’s mixed. All are welcome to come along and participate in a fun evening of golf. It's a fun format and great opportunity to interact with other members. Get your names on the timesheet available in the clubhouse. Come and show your support for your vice-captains Jim Flynn and Lucy Sanders.
Tierney seat: At a ceremony on Saturday evening last a seat was unveiled outside the men's and ladies' locker rooms at the club in memory of John Tierney Snr and John Tierney Jnr both of whom were members of the ground staff over a long number of years. The event was attended by members of the management committee along with a large group of members. Special guests at the event were members of the Tierney and Gaffney families.
Singles Matchplay: The singles matchplay is now down to last eight. Gerry Carroll v Tom Clarke; Sean McLoughlin v Alex Jones; Michael Fahey beat Pat Ryan; Brian Freeman v Ger Clifford. Check for your opponent. First named player to arrange match. Get your match played as soon as you can to ensure the smooth running of this competition.
Club Fourball: The Club Fourball has one pair, Eamon Callanan and Mike Ryan, through to the fourth round. Other third round matches yet to be played are: David Reddan and David Reddan Jnr v Liam Heffernan and Kevin Heffernan; Jody Hurley and Kieran Cahill v Ger Clifford and Ger Ryan; Matt Hanley and Bernard Delahunty v Michael Fahey and Michael Tierney. Get your match played as soon as possible to keep this competition on schedule.
Niall O'Meara: Congratulations to club member Niall O'Meara on winning an All-Ireland senior hurling medal with Tipperary against Kilkenny in the final at Croke Park on Sunday. He topped a tremendous performance by turning his man and scoring the first of Tipp's three goals.


Competition results: GOY6 Men’s Captains Prize to the Ladies. Thanks to Captain Hugh Maher for the beautiful prizes. 1st Nora O’Flynn(34) 68, 2nd Liz McKeever(13) 73, Gross Deirdre Cahalan(11) 85 gross points, 3rd Anne Atkinson(21) 74 B9, 4th Teresa Connolly(25) 74 B9, 5th Betty Hynes(29) 74, 6th Marie Corrigan(21) 75, Seniors Agnes Collins(28) 75.

9H S/F. 1st Niamh Leenane(27) 16points, 2nd Marie Finnan(31) 15 pts

Golfer of the Year: After 5 competitions and with 2 to play Maura Leenane is top of the leader board followed closely by Maureen Hogan.

Next presentation of prizes will take place Thursday 29th August at 8pm.

Best of luck to the Munster Cup Team who play in Bandon on 20th August and also to the Eleanor Tivy Cup Team who play in Fermoy on 21st August.

Dates for diary:Thursday 22nd August 18H Open Team of 2 Ryder Cup Format, kindly sponsored by Mediskin. Sunday 25th August alternate day 18H &9H singles S/F kindly sponsored by Lisa Baker Boutique. Monday 26th August 12H Senior Ladies draw at 10.45. We encourage golfers to enter the 9 hole competitions. This competition is ideal for new members, those with new handicaps, ladies with time constraints or busy with other commitments or those who just enjoy playing only 9 holes.