Sunday 29th August 2021

Sunday 29th August 2021

Monday, 30 August 2021


Results: Tuesday and Wednesday August 24 and 25, Open Singles Stableford: 1st James Kelly (13) 46 pts; 2nd Conor Tierney (21) 42 pts (back 9); 3rd Michael Gough (12) 42 pts; gross: David Reddan Jnr 39 pts; senior: John J. Ryan (23) 40 pts; senior: David King (19) 38 pts.

Saturday and Sunday August 28 and 29 Club Classic Open Scramble: 1st Padraic Hackett (13), Bernard Hackett (13), Patrick Hackett (36), Jake Hackett (48), 52; 2nd Billy Morgan (19), John Coonan (7), Joe Coonan (19), Tom O'Connor (9) 53.6; 3rd Thomas Slattery (13), Brian Freeman (4), David Jones (6), Kevin McCormack (21) 54.6; 4th Ladies prize: Siobhan Tynan (17), Deirdre Hughes (9), Joan Garrihy (18), Liz McKeever (11) 60.5; 5th Patrick Hogan (9), PJ Hogan (20), John Hogan (10), David Rooney (23) 55.8; 6th Frank Flannery (11), Paul Moloney (15), David Hickey (13), Martin Barry (18) 56.3. Raffle winner of Fitbits: Kay O'Donoghue, David Moloney. 4 prizes from Fiserv: Noel O'Dwyer, Tony Slattery (2), Fiona Murnane. Draw for green fees: Thurles: Murt Flynn; Portumna: Joe Mills; Castletroy: PJ Ryan; Newcastlewest: Brian Lawlor; Baltinglass: Jody Hurley; Ballyneety: Niall Sherlock; Charleville: Eugene Fitzpatrick; Lismore: Brendan Kennedy. Cleary Garage x4: Richard Wallace.

The Club Classic Scramble, held at the weekend in excellent weather, was a great success with 85 teams competing. Captain Sean McLoughlin thanked the main sponsors Eanna Jones (PGA professional), Slattery's Garage (main Peugeot and Subaru dealers), Breo Jewellers, Nineteen Bar and Bistro, all the team sponsors and tee box sponsors for making the event a financial success.

Fixtures: Tuesday and Wednesday August 31 and September 1: Open Singles Stableford.

Saturday and Sunday, September 4 and 5: Costello Oil sponsored Mogul Cup GOY.

Tuesday and Wednesday September 7 and 8: Open Singles Stableford.

Mogul Cup: The Costello Oil sponsored Mogul Cup will take place on Saturday and Sunday September 4 and 5. This is the last Golfer of the Year competition of the year. Play off the blue markers, strokeplay.

Pierce Purcell Shield: The Pierce Purcell team have advanced to the All-Ireland quarter-final. Their next match will be held at Limerick Golf Club on 16th September. PJ Shanahan and Bernard Delahunty are the selectors.

Fred Perry Trophy: The Fred Perry team is through to the All-Ireland quarter-final. Their next match will be against Esker Hill at Knightbrook Golf Club, Trim, Co. Meath, on this Friday September 3rd. Best of luck to the team and selectors Billy Morgan and Bernard Delahunty.

50/50 Members' Draw: The fortnightly 50/50 Members' Draw in aid of the club development fund is ongoing. In the last draw held on Friday August 27 Anna Kelly won €155 with the total pot at €300.To enter simply put €5 in the envelope supplied and place it in draw box outside the pro shop. The winner will receive 50% of the pot. The draw will take place every second Friday. The prize grows with every ticket sold. Please support. The next draw will take place on this Friday September 10. Thanks to everybody who supported this club fundraiser.

Club Fourball: The matches are: Paul Ferris & Paul Comer v Seamus Hogan & Martin Greenlagh; Paddy Heffernan & Cian Heffernan beat Christy Collins & Jack Dunlea; Liam Maher & Dominic Ryan beat Brendan Callanan & Jake Callanan; Kieran Ryan & James Hogan beat Martin Scully & Martin Slattery.

Club Singles: The club singles is down to the last four: Paul Cullen v Tom Coffey; Conor O'Dwyer v Sean Kelly.