Sunday 27 July 2021

Sunday 27 July 2021

Sunday, 27 June 2021


Results: Tuesday and Wednesday 22 and 23 June, Singles Stableford: 1st Jake Adler (3) 42 pts (back 9); 2nd Sean Kelly (20) 42 pts; 3rd James J. Hogan (16) 40 pts (back 9); gross Jake McMahon 34 pts (back 9); senior: Chris Middleton (23) 39 pts; senior plus: Tom Moloney (22) 36 pts (back 9).

Friday, Saturday and Sunday, June 25, 26 and 27 De Loughry Trophy (Golfer of the Year): 1st Jerry Ryan (14) 63; 2nd John Kenneally (28) 65; 3rd Eoin Slattery (10) 66 (back 9); gross Scott O'Brien 73; 4th Dermot McTiernan (9) 66 (last hole); 5th Patrick Lynch (7) 66; senior: Roger Hanly (15) 69.

Fixtures: Tuesday and Wednesday June 29 and 30: Open Singles Stableford.

Friday July 2: Nenagh Rugby Club Classic

Saturday and Sunday July 3 and 4: Intermediate and Junior Scratch Cups.

Tuesday and Wednesday July 6 and 7: Open Singles Stableford.

Friday July 9: IHCPT Team of 4.

Intermediate and Junior Scratch Cups: The Intermediate and Junior Scratch Cups will take place on Saturday and Sunday 3 and 4 July. The handicap range for junior is 2-5 to 10 while the range for intermediate will be 11 plus.

President's Prize: The timesheet for the President's (Sean Minogue) Prize will open on July 6.

Club Fourball: The draw for the club fourball was made last week with first round matches to be played on 10 July and is as follows: Roger Coffey and Michael Hegarty a bye; Gerry O'Rourke and Richard Moloney v Paul Ferris and Paul Comer; Jody Hurley and Kieran Cahill v Willie Reddy and Brendan Murphy; Sean Quinn and Paul Quinn v Seamus Hogan and Martin Greenlagh; Paddy Heffernan and Cian Heffernan v George Hayes and Tom Coffey; Liam Gleeson and Pat O'Connor v Eamon Callanan and Mike Ryan; Niall Murphy and Tony Slattery v Jack Dunlea and Christy Collins; Garrett Howard and Eoin Hogan v Matt Gleeson and John Martin McLoughney; Conor Tierney and Dermot McTiernan v Aaron Hogan and Jake McMahon; Liam Maher and Dominic O'Brien v Donal Keogh and Peter Kennedy; Oisin Butler and Lee Howard v Jake Callinan and Brendan Callanan; Paul Cullen and Diarmuid Kennedy v George O'Leary and Mike McMahon; Ger Lenihan and Ger Lees v Sean McLoughlin and Brian Byrne; Martin Slattery and Martin Scully v Justin Cahill and Conor Cleary; Seamus Hennessy and Nicky Flannery v Cronan Casey and Leo Moyles; Kieran Ryan and James Hogan a bye. Play off blue tee markers. Player handicap index on draw copied from Golf Ireland website on 22/6/21. Handicap calculation for fourball – lowest person goes to 0, calculate others based on 90% of difference. Top pairing to arrange match. Players please write a contact number on drawsheet. Enter result on drawsheet. Please play matches on time. All queries to organisers Niall Murphy and Tony Slattery.

Jimmy Bruen: The Jimmy Bruen Shield team were beaten 3-2 by Charleville in a very tight match in their first outing of the year. Playing for Nenagh at home were Michael Corrigan and Dermot McTiernan and Andy Warren and Patrick Lynch. Representing Nenagh in Charleville were Brian Fitzgibbon and Thomas Clarke, Denis Corrigan Jnr and Tony Hogan, Michael Tierney and Niall Higginbottom. Reserves were Eoin Fitzgibbon, Kieran Ryan, Brian Freeman, Eoin Slattery, Noel Gleeson, Hugh O'Brien. Thanks to the team and their managers Liam Hogan and Pat Foley.

Fred Perry Cup: The Fred Perry Cup squad had convincing win over Rathbane on Friday evening last. The results was Nenagh 4.5, Rathbane 0.5. Playing in Nenagh were Paddy Hogan and Denis Ryan; Jim Ryan and Michael Ryan; Paul Moloney and Garry Howard. In Rathbane we had Jim Gleeson and Billy Burke along with Sean Minogue and Michael Hegarty. Reserves Michael Gavin and Kevin Stritch. The management team was Billy Morgan and Bernard Delahunty. They now go forward to meet the winners of the Ballyneety and Limerick in the next round.

Duggan Cup: Nenagh received a bye into the second round of the Duggan Cup. The second round match has been arrange for Wednesday July 14 at 3.00pm

50/50 Members' Draw: The fortnightly 50/50 Members' Draw in aid of the club development fund is ongoing. In the last draw held on Friday June 18 Anna Kelly won €255 with the total pot at €505.To enter simply put €5 in the envelope supplied and place it in draw box outside the pro shop. The winner will receive 50% of the pot. The draw will take place every second Friday. The prize grows with every ticket sold. Please support. The next draw will take place on this Friday July 2.

Club Singles: All the first round match are now completed and the deadline for the second round is July 4. Get your match played. The top name player to arrange match. Hugh Maher is the co-ordinator of the competition.