Sunday 22 August 2021

Sunday 22 August 2021

Sunday, 22 August 2021


Eamon O'Brien wins the Captain's Prize: Sean McLoughlin's Captain's Prize playoff took place on Saturday with the threatened rain thankfully staying away. 90 golfers had qualified. Fast green and tricky pin position didn't stop the field producing brilliant scores to match the occasion. Eamon O'Brien emerged as winner when he scored 68, to go with the 62 he had the previous weekend, for a winning total of 130. Remarkably Eamon had a hole-in-one at the 6th to go with the hole-in-one he scored in the captain's prize last year. Robert Ryan had a better score of 128 but he wasn't eligible to win first prize because he is in his first year of membership at the club. Jack Dunlea was third with 131. The best gross was scored by Tony Scroope with 151. At the presentation of prizes Sean McLoughlin thanked everyone who had helped make the event such a great success. Winner Eamon O'Brien said he was a great honour to win the captain's prize. He capped a great weekend when he was on the Pierce Purcell team that was successful against Killarney on Sunday.

Captain's Prize results: 1st Eamon O'Brien (17) 130; 2nd Robert Ryan (22) 128; 3rd Jack Dunlea (19) 131; gross Tony Scroope 151; 4th Thomas Slattery (15) 137; 5th John M. Slattery (21) 138; senior: Roger Coffey (18) 140; student: Dominic O'Brien (19) 135; 6th Toby Morgan (22) 139; 1st 18: Alan Ryan (13) 68; 2nd 18 1st Martin Collins (16) 68 (back 9); 2nd 18 2nd Paul Quinn (20) 68; 2nd 18 3rd Pat Foley (17) 70 (back 9); past captain: Sean O'Donnell (19) 141; green markers: Tony Tierney (13) 69; Denis O'Sullivan Cup: Gerry McLoughlin (18) 142; men's captain's prize to the ladies: Nodlaig O'Grady (41) 69.

Results: Tuesday and Wednesday August 17and 18, Open Singles Stableford: 1st Tom O'Donnell (21) 44 pts; 2nd John Darby (14) 42 pts; 3rd Dermot McTiernan (6) 39 pts (back 3); gross Paul Carey 38 pts (back 9); senior David King (20) 39 pts (back 9); senior plus: Eddie Scanlan (2) 39 pts.

Sunday August 22, Open Singles Stableford: 1st Andrew Warren (10) 41 pts (back 9); 2nd Declan Lynagh (10) 41 pts; 3rd Paul Comer (17) 39 pts; gross Paul Carey 37 pts; senior: Phil Reddan (19) 36 pts.

Fixtures: Tuesday and Wednesday August 24 and 25: Open Singles Stableford.

Saturday and Sunday, August 28 and 29: Club Classic.

Tuesday and Wednesday August 31 and September 1: Open Singles Stableford.

Pierce Purcell Shield: The Pierce Purcell team advanced to the All-Ireland quarter-final with a 3.5/1.5 win over Killarney on Sunday afternoon. At home were Bernard Hackett & PJ Hogan; Mike Ryan (B) & Matthew O'Gara Jnr. In Killarney were: Padraig Hackett & David McGrath; David Hickey & Paul Moloney; Thomas Slattery & Eamon O'Brien. PJ Shanahan and Bernard Delahunty are the selectors.

Fred Perry Trophy: The Fred Perry team is through to the All-Ireland quarter-final following their win by 3-2 over Killarney recently. Their next match will be against Esker Hill at Knightbrook Golf Club, Trim, Co. Meath, on Friday September 3rd. The selectors are Billy Morgan and Bernard Delahunty.

Club Classic Open Scramble: The Nenagh Golf Club Open Scramble Classic will take place on this Saturday and Sunday August 28 and 29 in aid of course development. The main sponsors are Eanna Jones (PGA professional), Slattery's Garage (main Peugeot and Subaru dealers), Breo Jewellers and Nineteen Bar and Bistro. Entry fee for a team of four will be €200 (meal included). Teams can consist of men, ladies or mixed. First prize will be four drivers; second prize will be four golf watches and third will be four golf bags. There will be a prize for an all-ladies team. There will be numerous other prizes for green fees, etc. A raffle will also take place over that weekend. You may book your team through the club BRS system of phone 067-31476 (option 2).

50/50 Members' Draw: The fortnightly 50/50 Members' Draw in aid of the club development fund is ongoing. In the last draw held on Friday August 13 Siobhan O'Dwyer won €155 with the total pot at €310.To enter simply put €5 in the envelope supplied and place it in draw box outside the pro shop. The winner will receive 50% of the pot. The draw will take place every second Friday. The prize grows with every ticket sold. Please support. The next draw will take place on this Friday August 27. Thanks to everybody who supported this club fundraiser.

Club Fourball: All second round matches have been completed. Third round matches are: Paul Ferris & Paul Comer v Seamus Hogan & Martin Greenlagh; Paddy Heffernan & Cian Heffernan beat Christy Collins & Jack Dunlea; Liam Maher & Dominic Ryan v Brendan Callanan & Jake Callanan; Kieran Ryan & James Hogan beat Martin Scully & Martin Slattery.

Club Singles: The club singles is down to the last four: Paul Cullen v Tom Coffey; Conor O'Dwyer v Sean Kelly.