Golf Notes 16th August 2020

Golf Notes 16th August 2020

Sunday, 16 August 2020


Tuesday 12th & Wednesday 13th August Open Singles (Mens )
1st: David Jones (7) 44 pts. 2nd: Owen Moloney (20) 43 pts. 3rd: Eamon Byrne (19) 42 pts. Gross: Shane Hogan 38 pts. Seniors: Desmond Bayly (18) 39 pts. Seniors Plus: Tom Hayes (21) 36 pts. 4th: Andy Warren (11) 41pts (Back 9)

CSS: Tuesday 11th 38 pts. Wednesday 12th 37 pts.

Thursday 13th August Men's Captains prize to the Ladies (Ladies )
1st: Patricia Daly (42) 70. 2nd: Mary O'Halloran (35) 71. Gross: Vanessa Austin (5) 80. 3rd: Margaret Gaynor (16) 72. 4th: Catherine Lidwill (37) 73. 5th: Maureen Hogan (21) 73. 6th: Marie Corrigan (22) 73. Seniors: Lucy Sanders (28) 74. : 9 Hole S/F Men's Captains prize to the Ladies . 1st: Niamh Leenane (27) 17 points. 2nd: Patricia Finn (37) 16 point
Jim Flynn Captains Prize 15th August 2020 (Mens )
1st: David Hickey (13) 135. 2nd: Brendan O'Donoghue (15) 139 (Last 18). 3rd: Charlie Swan (15) 139 (Last 18). Gross: Paul Carey 145. 4th: Kevin Rynne (21) 139 (Last 18). 5th: John Coonan (10) 139. 6th: Martin Barry (15) 140. Seniors: Peter Baker (9) 141. Captains Prize to the Ladies: Patricia Daly (42) 70. Student: Rob Banaghan (26) 135. 1st 18: Gerard Carroll (11) 68. : 2nd 18. . 1st: Pat Callinan (11) 68. 2nd: David Hunt (2) 71 (Back 9). 3rd: Paul Moloney (11) 71. Past Captain: Sean O'Donnell (18) 146. Seniors (Off Green Markers): Tony Downey (14) 79. Dennis O'Sullivan Cup: Tim Fogarty (17) 143 (Win Back 6 Last 18). Juniors (For 7 Holes): 1st. Eoin Kelly (31) 2 Over. 2nd Cathal Blake (33) 4Over. . :
Sunday 16th August Open Singles (Mens )
1st: Mark Higginbotham (21) 42 pts. 2nd: Andy Warren (10) 39 pts (Back9). 3rd: Oisin Butler (16) 39 pts. Gross: Tristan O'Rourke 35pts. Seniors: Ronnie Slevin (15) 36 pts

CSS: 36 pts


Nenagh Ladies win The Munster Cup
Nenagh Ladies win the Munster Cup
Huge Congratulations to our Ladies Team of Catherine Bird, Deirdre Cahalan and Teresa Starr on winning the Munster Cup for 2020 today, Monday, on home turf. An excellent achievement competing against 33 other Clubs from all across Munster.
Congratulations to everyone involved in organising the day and ensuring that the Club put its best foot forward. Well done to all.
But pride of place goes to our victorious team of Catherine, Deirdre and Teresa on such a great achievement.

Officers and Management Committee


David Hickey wins Jim Flynn's Captain's Prize: Jim Flynn's luck with the great weather for his captain's prize ran out near the concluding stage of the playoff on Saturday afternoon when thunder, lightning and torrential rain let to the players been called in off the course for their own safety. Play did resume following a brief delay and the competition was safely concluded. The winner David Hickey in his acceptance speech at the presentation of prizes on Saturday night said the break in play helped him as when his group resumed at the 12th hole he carded par, par, birdie, birdie. He even had the luxury of scoring a seven at the par five 17th to win the title by four shots from Brendan O'Donoghue and Charlie Swan.

Fixtures: The following are the fixtures for August.

Tuesday and Wednesday August 18 and 19: Open Singles.

Friday August 21: Newport Classic all day.

Satuday and Sunday August 22 and 23: M. J. Walshe Trophy GOY.

Saturday and Sunday August 29 and 30: Open Singles.

Hole-in-One: Congratulations to Eamon O'Brien who had a hole-in-one at the 8th hole in the Captain's prize qualifier.

Course maintenance: The course will be closed for course maintenance on Monday and Tuesday August 24 and 25.

50/50 Members' Draw: The fortnightly 50/50 Members' Draw in aid of the club development fund continues. Simply put €5 in the envelope supplied and place it in draw box in the Pro Shop. The winner will receive 50% of the pot. The draw will take place every second Friday. The prize grows with every ticket sold. Please support. The third draw took place on Friday August 14 with €315 going to Sally McGuigan. The fourth draw will take place on Friday August 28.

Club singles: The club singles matchplay competition (O'Keeffe Cup) is progressing. The draw for which is posted on the noticeboard in the men's locker room. There are a few second round matches to be played. The deadline for third round matches is Sunday August 23. Both players to arrange match.

Pierce Purcell: Their next match is against Charleville on this Saturday. They have three matches at home and two away. The selectors are Brendan Kennedy and Bernard Delahunty.

Junior Cup: The Junior Cup squad's second round match was at home to Adare Resort with all matches in Nenagh on Sunday where they won 3.5 to 1.5. The Nenagh team was Conor O'Dwyer, Denis Corrigan, Brian Freeman, Jake Adler and Michael Corrigan.. The selectors are David Jones and Shane Hogan.

Jimmy Bruen: The Jimmy Bruen team meet Ballyneety in the second round. The selectors are Collwyn Martin and Brian Freeman.


Competition Results

Thursday 13th August Men’s Captains prize to the ladies.

1st Patricia Daly(42) 70, 2nd Mary O’Halloran(35) 71, Gross Vanessa Austin(5) 80, 3rd Margaret Gaynor(16) 72, 4th Catherine Lidwill(37) 73, 5th Maureen Hogan(21) 73, 6th Marie Corrigan(22) 73, Seniors Lucy Sanders(28) 74.

9H S/F Men’s Captains Prize to the ladies.

1st Niamh Leenane(27) 17 points, 2nd Patricia Finn(37) 16 points.

Upcoming Competitions

Sunday 23rd August, alternate day 18H S/F sponsored by Lisa Baker, Thursday 27th August 18H & 9H S/F sponsored by Lisa Baker. Sunday 30th August alternate day 18H sponsored by Eva’s Hair. Monday 31st August Senior Ladies 12H, draw takes place at 10.45.